todealornot

Dear Leo

In The Flying Muse on September 8, 2010 at 1:01 pm

Do you have a tech question?

Ask it here. Newsletter questions? Check the

newsletter administration page. You can also unsubscribe using the link at

the bottom of this email.

*** NEW ARTICLES

Why does my computer crash at random times?

I have a dual core lintel, 500gHD, 2gRam and all those goodies on Windows XP. My PC is not quite a year old yet but it recently started to crash, even while just running Word. Antivirus (both) check everything in order. What could possibly be the matter here?

*

A “crash”, for the purposes of this discussion, includes things like random blue screens, random reboots and just randomly shutting down without warning.

I actually have several articles on crashing randomly, but because this is such a common scenario I want to update my approach a little.

In particular, I find one cause to be the most common.

I’ll look at that, and then review what else might be going on.

Continue reading:

Why does my computer crash at random times?http://ask-leo.com/C4437

What’s the difference between an email program and an email account?

I want to change my email program from Hotmail to something else. How to do?

I’m going to use this as an opportunity to clear up a confusion that I see

all the time. A lot of folks might not believe me when I say this, but the confusion is

surprisingly common.

In short: Hotmail is not an email program.

An email program is not at all the same thing as an email service or an email account.

Time for some definitions.

Continue reading:

What’s the difference between an email program and an email account?http://ask-leo.com/C4436

How do you make links?

Within this

article of yours that I’m reading you have a few plain text links that are typed in blue letters and underlined. When I click on them I’m taken to the actual hypertext (http:) URL. For example, when I click on the underlined ”

I have a few myself” and ”

free Internet Safety eBook” I’m taken to http://store.pugetsoundsoftware.com/ebooks.php and http://media.ask-leo.com/ebooks/InternetSafety.pdf, respectively. How did you change the actual hypertext address to a clickable plain text link?

Time for my favorite answer: it depends.

OK, that’s not may

favorite answer, but it certainly is a common one.

It depends on where you’re creating the link: web pages and email and discussion forums are often all different, though typically with the same result.

It also depends on what tools you may or may not be using to create the link.

I’ll look at how links are structured, and how common tools encode them.

Continue reading:

How do you make links?http://ask-leo.com/C4435

How do I get my attached drive to show in Windows Explorer?

Is there a LIMIT to the # of hardware units I can attach to my PC? Windows XP seems not to recognize ALL the “drives”. How can I troubleshoot this problem? XP software tells me that the drive I want to attach using “Add Hardware” is “functioning properly” but when I “explore”, the hardware is not listed as attached and therefore is not accessible. What gives?

There’s probably a limit, but a) I have no idea what it is, and b) I’m fairly certain that that’s not the problem here.

It’s frustrating to have a “functioning properly” drive not be accessible – I mean what’s the point of “functioning properly” if you can’t use it?

I’m also not sure exactly why this happens, but it does and I’m sure there are several possible explanations.

I’ll show you the first place I look.

Continue reading:

How do I get my attached drive to show in Windows Explorer?http://ask-leo.com/C4434

How do I turn off thumbs.db in Windows 7?

In your article

What is thumbs.db, and can I delete it? your fix did not work for me. I am on Windows 7. ‘Do Not Cache Thumbnails’ is not in my View Tab under Folder Options of Windows Explorer. Do you have a fix for Windows 7 for this issue?

Indeed, I do.

How you control thumbs.db has changed in Windows 7.

We’ll take a look at how to turn it off and review what it’s used for.

Continue reading:

How do I turn off thumbs.db in Windows 7?http://ask-leo.com/C4433

Is copyright still an issue if something’s not available anywhere?

I want to be able to copy VHS to DVD via my PC. Your site answers all the questions except One. As 99% of my VHS tapes have copyright restrictions. Is there a device I can obtain that will allow me to copy these tapes? As most of these movies are now ‘out of production’ and unobtainable I do not see copyright as an issue.

I’ve been getting a lot of questions about copyright lately, most commonly relating to

a lot of confusion around bittorrent.

But as this question shows, copyright issues come up in other forms as well.

Now, I need to be super clear: I’m not a lawyer. Never have been, and I don’t plan to be one. This is not legal advice: use at your own risk, no animals were harmed, some objects may appear smaller, yadda, yadda, yadda.

That being said, what follows is my pretty clear opinion which I believe to be relatively accurate

Leave a Reply

